Congratulations to Ryan Blaney who won his first cup race last weekend at Pocono! There are seven slots open in the 16 driver field playoffs. Keven Harvick, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin, Clint Boyer, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Chase Elliot need to win a race this year!
It’s possible that multiple drivers may qualify for the playoffs based on their standings, but the only way to guarantee a spot is to win! As far as Dale Earnhardt Jr. is concerned, Rick Hendrick said he thinks they’ve got to get a win now! Jr. does well at the Michigan track, and he’s always liked that track.
Fastest lately are Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Larson, Jimmy Johnson, and Kevin Harvick, all hoping for a win this weekend. Harvick hasn’t had a single win this year. Larson got his first career win at Michigan. Truex has been exceptional all year and has high hopes. Matt Kenseth is also hoping for a win this year.